Skip to content

Faculty

Troy Andersen

Associate Professor/Lecturer

(801) 587-5354
troy.andersen@hsc.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Alzheimer’s Disease, Progressive Neurologic Disease, Aging, Health, Rural Health Care

Sumiko Anderson

Assistant Professor/Clinical

sumiko.anderson@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Generational trauma in the Black/African-American community, Best practices in Field Education and Self-care in Academia

Tiffany Baffour

Associate Professor, Director, MSW Program

(801) 581-7585
tiffany.baffour@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Community-based Participatory Research, Health Care Delivery, Violence Prevention, Evidence-based Mental Health, Professional Development in Social Work

Stephanie Bank

Assistant Professor/Clinical

stephanie.bank@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Trauma, Anxiety, Depression, Loss, Grief, Parenting, Family/Relationship Issues, Health & Wellness

Emily Bleyl

Assistant Professor/Clinical, Associate Director, Field Education

emily.bleyl@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Ethics in Social Work Practice, Child and Adolescent Well-Being & Social Policy, Professional Social Work Socialization & Identity

Joanna Bettmann Schaefer

Professor

(801) 587 -7600
joanna.schaefer@socwk.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Attachment, Treatment Outcomes, Wilderness Therapy, Residential Treatment

Christopher Cambron

Assistant Professor

(801) 581-8691
chris.cambron@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Health disparities, substance abuse/addiction, cancer prevention, quantitative research, ecological momentary assessment

Sarah Canham

Associate Professor (Social Work & Architecture + Planning)

(801) 581-8738
sarah.canham@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Social determinants of health; Health and social services; Environments and aging; Homelessness; Substance use and dependence; Mental health; Qualitative research methods; Community-based participatory research; Life course perspective; Social construction of knowledge; Culture of medicine; Knowledge translation

Jason Castillo

Associate Professor, Director, BSW Program

(801) 585-9592
jason.castillo@socwk.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Disadvantaged Children and Families with an Emphasis on Fathers, Social Work Education, Substance Use Disorder Counselor Education and Training, Social Welfare Policy, Macro Social Work Practice

Caren J. Frost

Research Professor, Associate Director of CRMRI

(801) 581-5287
caren.frost@socwk.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Women’s Health, Global Health, Breast Cancer, Research Ethics

Eric Garland

Professor, Associate Dean for Research, Director of C-MIIND

(801) 581-3826
eric.garland@socwk.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Mindfulness-based Interventions, Clinical Research and Treatment of Stress-related Conditions (e.g., addiction, anxiety, chronic pain, cancer), Integrative Medicine and Behavioral Medicine, Translational Research using Cognitive Neuroscience Methods, Resilience, Positive Psychology, and Meaning-making

Christina Gringeri

Professor, Director, PhD Program

(801) 581-4864
christina.gringeri@socwk.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Diversity in Social Work Education and Practicum; Qualitative Research Methods and Evaluation of Qualitative Research; Feminisms in Social Work Research

Yvette González Coronado

Assistant Professor/Clinical

(801) 581-4711
yvette.gonzalez@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Trauma-Informed and Healing-Centered Engagement, Feminist Multicultural Therapy, Curanderismo/Traditional Medicine, Latinxs Epistemologies

Tonie Michelle Hanáázbaa'

Assistant Professor/Clinical

(801) 581-4309
tonie-michelle.hanaazbaa@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Social Justice, Indigenous Education, Substance Use Disorders, (Dis)Ability

Adam Hanley

Assistant Professor

(801) 213-4191
adam.hanley@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Clinical Research and Treatment of Chronic Pain and Addiction, Mindfulness-based Interventions, Resilience and Posttraumatic Growth, Well-being, Positive Emotionality, and human flourishing, Altered states of self, including Self-transcendence, Self-extension, and nondual awareness, Psychometrics and scale development

Rod W. Hopkins

Research Assistant Professor

(801) 581-5179
rodney.hopkins@socwk.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Program Evaluation, Community-based Needs Assessments, and Evidence-based Practices; Suicide prevention; Implementation Science; Improving Program Outcomes

Charles Hoy-Ellis

Assistant Professor

(801) 585-0835
charles.hoy-ellis@socwk.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Social Determinants of LGBTQ+/Sexual and Gender Minority (SGM) Health and Mental Health; Identity, Embodiment, and Aging in a Heterosexist Culture; Social Neuroscience of Prejudice, Stigma, and Intergroup Relations; Diversity, Social Justice, and Clinical/Contextual Social Work Practice

Jeremiah Jaggers

Assistant Professor

(801) 581-7644
jeremiah.jaggers@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Intersection of Multi-system Youth, Mental Illness, and Mental Health Services; Long Term Effects of Child Maltreatment; Family Dynamics and Juvenile Justice System Involvement; Latent Variable Modeling; Analysis of Big Data; Research and Evaluation; Statistics; Psychopathology; Child Welfare; Social Welfare Policy

Leroy Curtis Johnson

Assistant Professor/Clinical

L.Curtis.Johnson@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Disproportionate Minority Contact, Disproportionality in Child Welfare, Child Protection Services-Safety Organized Practice, Racial Discrimination in the Criminal Justice System

Jamuna Jones

Assistant Professor/Clinical, Director Field Education

(801) 581-5603
jamuna.jones@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Perinatal Mood Disorders, Anxiety and Depression, Nutritional Psychology, Trauma informed practice

Tasha Keyes

Assistant Professor

(801) 587-7791
tasha.keyes@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
School Social Work; Belonging and Engagement for Native American and Underrepresented Students; Culturally Relevant Restorative Justice Practices; Addressing Trauma in Schools

Mi Seong Kim

Research Assistant Professor

miseong.kim@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Elder Mistreatment, Aging among immigrant older adults, Intimate partner violence, Ethnic and cultural diversity

Richard Landward

Assistant Professor/Lecturer

(801) 581-4298
rich.landward@socwk.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Combat related PTSD, Mindfulness, Community Schools

Alysse Loomis

Assistant Professor

(801) 581-8679
alysse.loomis@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Early childhood trauma, child maltreatment prevention; early care and education, attachment, trauma-informed care, social work practice

Brad Lundahl

Associate Professor

(801) 581-4570
brad.lundahl@socwk.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Motivational Interviewing, Meta-analyses, and Parent Training

Susiane Manning

Assistant Professor/Clinical

susiane.manning@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Clinical Social Work, Child Welfare, Technology in Mental Health Practice, Crisis Management

Frank McAlpin

Assistant Professor/Lecturer

frank.mcalpin@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Social Justice and Anti-Oppressive Practices, Youth and Young Adult Populations, Complex Trauma, Trauma-Informed Practice, Homelessness and Housing, Clinical Case Management and Social Work Practice

Chad McDonald

Chad McDonald

Research Assistant Professor, Director, Social Research Institute

(801) 581-6155
chad.mcdonald@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Trauma-Informed Systems in Child Welfare, Cross-section of Supervisory Support, Transfer of Learning, and Implementation Science Drivers, Child Welfare Training Curricula, Evidence-based Practice in Child Welfare, Professional and Organizational Competence of Child Welfare Agencies

Meeyoung Min

Meeyoung Min

Associate Professor, Belle S. Spafford Endowed Chair

(801) 581-8796
meeyoung.min@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:

Prenatal Drug Exposure; Trauma; Maternal Mental Health; Child Development; Adolescence Substance Use

Dena Ned

Associate Professor/Lecturer, Director of American Indian Program

(801) 581-8902
dena.ned@socwk.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
American Indian/Tribal Nations/Indigenous Issues & Policy (Indian Child Welfare; Indian Health Care; Intergenerational and Historical Trauma; Urban Indian Systems of Care; Research Regulation in Indian Country; Sovereignty of Native Nations in Higher Education [Indigenous Ways of Knowing & Methodologies, American Indian Student Success]); Macro Social Work and Policy Practice; Generalist Practice; Public Service

Allison O'Connor

Allison O'Connor

Assistant Professor/Lecturer

(801) 581-3641
allison.oconnor@socwk.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:

Philip Osteen

Associate Professor, Interim Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

(801) 581-8861
philip.osteen@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Suicide intervention and prevention, mental health, psychometrics, advanced statistical analyses

Patrick Panos

Associate Professor

(801) 581-8914
patrick.panos@socwk.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Distance Learning, International Social Work, Participatory Community-Based Research, Refugee Trauma, Cross-Cultural Mental Health

Kort Prince

Research Assistant Professor

(801) 587-9947
kort.prince@socwk.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Criminal and Juvenile Justice; Longitudinal and Multilevel Models, Generalized Linear Models, Generalized Additive Models, Survival Analysis, Experimental Methodology

Emily Salisbury

Associate Professor, Director, Utah Criminal Justice Center

emily.salisbury@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Criminological Behavior, Correctional Philosophy and Rehabilitation, Justice-Involved Women and Girls, Correctional Risk/Need/Strength Assessment, Gender- and Trauma-Responsive Policy and Practice

Gaben Sanchez

Assistant Professor/Lecturer

(801) 581-8847
gaben.sanchez@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Immigrant and Refugee Populations, Narrative Therapy, the Latinx Population, Gender Identity

sanders

Cynthia Sanders

Associate Professor

(801) 581-6192
cynthia.sanders@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Online Education

Christian Sarver

Christian Sarver

Research Assistant Professor, Associate Director, Utah Criminal Justice Center

(801) 587-9437
christian.sarver@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Correctional Rehabilitation and Programming, Reentry, Offender Pathways and Desistance, Behavioral Health and Criminal Justice, Qualitative Research Methods

Elizabeth Siantz

Elizabeth Siantz

Assistant Professor

e.siantz@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
My research focuses on the promotion of health equity for persons with mental illness. I use qualitative methods, social network analysis, and mixed methods to study the development and implementation of integrated behavioral health care, peer mental health providers, and trauma-informed communities.

Tamber Snarr-Beesley

Assistant Professor/Clinical

tamber.snarr@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Grief and Loss Therapy, Children Therapy, and Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT)

Michael Tanana

Research Assistant Professor

(801) 585-9228
michael.tanana@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Machine Learning/Deep Learning for the Behavioral Sciences, Statistical Methods, Interactive Data Visualization for Program Improvement

Martell Teasley

Professor, Dean

(801) 581-6194
martell.teasley@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
African American Adolescent Development, Diversity in Cultural Competence, Black Studies, School Social Work Practice

Mary Beth Vogel-Ferguson

Research Associate Professor

(801) 581-3071
marybeth.vogel-ferguson@socwk.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Public Benefit Programs and Policies, Trauma-informed Approaches for Agencies and Organizations, Employment Issues, Poverty and Serving Diverse Low-income Populations

Jaehee Yi

Associate Professor

(801) 585-7030
jaehee.yi@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Impact of Trauma on Individuals and Families in the Cultural Context, Cancer Survivorship, Posttraumatic Stress and Growth, Cross-cultural Studies, Photovoice, Loss and Grief, Emerging Adulthood 

 

 

Last Updated: 11/25/21